BooooooN!!!

Half Kuala Lumpurian, Half Penangite, Another 0.01 Singaporean

Movie Review – In Bruges

with 4 comments

To be honest with you, I am lazy to type and to bring it up here if that particular movie or food is not extremely good or suck and I won’t bother to mention it here at all. So whatever that I mention later is surely guaranteed in quality and worth at least a laugh or so! =P

==================================================

This post may contain mild and strong language that you might not be comfortable with. Get the fuck out of here if you couldn’t stand those languages.

==================================================

This movie is fucking amazing and brilliant!

Ray: After I killed him, I dropped the gun in the Thames, washed the residue off me hands in the bathroom of a Burger King, and walked home to await instructions. Shortly thereafter the instructions came through – “Get the fuck out of London, you dumb fucks. Get to Bruges.” I didn’t even know where Bruges fucking was. 
[pause] 
Ray: It’s in Belgium. 

It is catchy. It is funny. Darkly English-humored and set in a beautiful city of Bruges. (you should pronounce it something like “Bruce”) But where the fuck is Bruges?

A little bit of geography lesson here…

It’s one of the historical sites in Europe and being called as “The Venice of The North” due to its famous canals similar to those in Venice. But what is so nice about this place or the movie?

Ken: Coming up? 
Ray: What’s up there? 
Ken: The view. 
Ray: The view of what? The view of down here? I can see that down here. 
Ken: Ray, you are about the worst tourist in the whole world. 
Ray: Ken, I grew up in Dublin. I love Dublin. If I grew up on a farm, and was retarded, Bruges might impress me but I didn’t, so it doesn’t. 

The view of down here…

It’s a story of 2 Irish hitman. After their assignment in England, they were being sent down to the little fcuking city of Bruges immediately and stay for further instructions. The story evolves as they stay fcuking long enough in the city to discover more about themselves and their purpose.

Ken (played by Brendan Gleeson) enjoyed the fcuking fruitful cultural and historical trip in the city of Bruges while Ray (played by Colin Farrell) was fcuking upset stuck in this place which what he called as “shithole”. Along their journey they met Chloe (Clémence Poésy), a production assistant that sells the fcuking drugs and an American dwarf actor adding special experience to their vacation.

The movie storyline is fcuking cleverly ploted with dark humorous elements inserted with the right amount at the right time. It is just enough to keep you watching from the beginning and you can’t stop wondering what would happen in the next minutes.

 

It’s not a mainstream movie where the fcuking explosions and the fcuking actions are over-exploited. To be honest, it’s one of those slow pace movies which bring you walk through the life of each characters in the story and exposed their real fcuking personality to you one at a time — emotional and heart-warming.

The acting is as fucking good as it can be. Everyone plays their part well and the focus of the light will shine on both Brendan and Colin in which their interactions are really the essence of the movie. Funny comments, emotional conversations… all shown by them nicely.

One more thing, is Colin fucking acting childish throughout the story?? Hahaha… Really. Both of them fcuking LIVE the characters in the movie!

Another thing worth to mention — I’m sure you are fucking sure for now that why are there so many “fucking” words around this article. Well after watching this movie I got a real bad influence from them. It is known that the movie has repeated the word “fuck” and its derivatives for 126 times in this 106-minute feature. That’s an average of 1.18 ‘fuck’ word mentioned for every minute.

Well.. that means this movie can’t get the fuck into the cinema nor DVD release in Malaysia. Fucking sad… 

 

What’s more? The scenery attracted me so much that I am determined to give Europe a visit in years to come. It’s so SO so SO so beautiful!!! The sound and the setting and the overall atmosphere of the movie are just too detailed and nicely done. A very very good movie!!

The best last lines of the movie is something I cannot forget at all. All I can say is that the very ending of the movie is one of the essence in this film and it really really touched me.

Last Lines Spoiler Warning: If you insisted on reading, please highlight the lines after this…

Ray: There’s a Christmas tree somewhere in London with a bunch of presents underneath it that’ll never be opened. And I thought, if I survive all of this, I’d go to that house, apologize to the mother there, and accept whatever punishment she chose for me. Prison… death… didn’t matter. Because at least in prison and at least in death, you know, I wouldn’t be in fuckin’ Bruges. But then, like a flash, it came to me. And I realized, fuck man, maybe that’s what hell is: the entire rest of eternity spent in fuckin’ Bruges. And I really really hoped I wouldn’t die. I really really hoped I wouldn’t die. 

I would give a fucking Truly Amazing 9 out of 10 for this movie!! Just one of the must-watch movie on the top.

Written by Boon Ming

February 24, 2009 at 12:01 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it looks good…but then i cant tehen la…why izit so many F**K around??? = =|||

    yenyen

    February 24, 2009 at 2:51 pm

  2. just something from the movie … =P

    “It is known that the movie has repeated the word “fuck” and its derivatives for 126 times in this 106-minute feature. That’s an average of 1.18 ‘fuck’ word mentioned for every minute.”

    Boon Ming

    February 24, 2009 at 4:49 pm

  3. hah, so u try to imitate the movie! good job! today i watched a movie “i think i love my wife” and fuck words are all around my mind now omg…
    hey but is that city in Belgium? cuz i think i went there =) 9 yrs ago, then

    my

    February 25, 2009 at 9:39 pm

  4. yo My! Thanks for dropping by!! where do you come from by the way? lol…

    yea.. sometimes your mind is easily influenced by something BAD especially… =P

    that wonderful city is in Belgium .. in the north i think.. glad to hear you’ve been there!! =/

    Boon Ming

    February 25, 2009 at 11:16 pm


Leave a Reply

